top of page
  • Writer's pictureAllie Felker

Red Wine Beef Stew

Got a half empty bottle of wine? Need a cozy fall meal? Try this red wine beef stew recipe!



Mmmmmm stew. Warm, hearty, and perfect for leftovers. As the weather gets colder I'm much more inclined to spend some time cooking. So grab some fuzzy socks, light a few candles and join me for a fall treat.


It's not often that I let a bottle of red wine go, but when I do I want to make good use of it. This recipe ended up being a little on the tangy side but I like it!


Like all stews this one takes a bit of time. You'll be cooking for a few hours but there isn't a ton of prep. I also added a little trick to thicken up your stew if you prefer it to be less "soupy".


Recipe:


Mix salt, pepper and thyme with stew meat

Toss with flour

Heat a pot and add olive oil

Brown the meat (med/high heat) then remove

Add wine (about 1.5 cups) and bring to a boil

Add back the meat

Add 1 can of beef broth (14.5 oz)

Bring to a boil then reduce to a simmer

Cover and cook for 1 hour


Prep you veggies

I used:

1/2 red onion

4 carrots

~10 Baby potatoes

3 celery stalks


Add everything except celery

Cook for 15 minutes

Add celery and cook for 30 more minutes


Thickener:

Add salt to 1/4 cup flour

Stir in 1/2 cup stew broth

Stir, stir, stir


Check that your veggies are cooked and that the meat is soft

Add thickener to stew slowly


Enjoy with some homemade bread and a glass of wine!


Cheers!

Allie

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page